Monday Morning Mojo: Future History 

mojo ali 2

“Impossible is just a big word thrown around by small men who find it easier to live in the world they’ve been given than to explore the power they have to change it. Impossible is not a fact. It’s an opinion. Impossible is not a declaration. It’s a dare. Impossible is potential. Impossible is temporary. Impossible is nothing.”

Muhammad Ali used a visualization technique that he liked to call ‘Future History.’ It’s a very powerful technique that you can use to program your mind for success.

In the days preceding a match, Muhammad would picture himself at the end of the fight with his arms lifted in the air and the referee proclaiming him the champion. He would visualize this so vividly, with total commitment and belief. He would hear the crowds cheering and shouting his name, he would feel how amazing it felt to win. He was totally in the zone. All his energy and focus would then be directed to making this happen.

When he walked into the ring he was extremely well prepared, both mentally and physically. He’d already won the fight in his mind and so his subconscious mind would be constantly looking out for ways to make his desired outcome true.

I do something similar every morning when I hit the gym. First I put in my earbuds and start cranking inspiring music. Then during my workout I give thanks for the things I have in my life and visualize the things I want to attract. When I do it I can literally feel it…I can feel the emotion…I can feel what it will be like when I get “it.” Now for me it is not just stuff…it is relationships, it is experiences, it is who I want to be, it is what I want to be…it is the kind of impact I want to have…

Give this exercise a go. Now before you start…remember that like anything in life it will not work overnight. You can’t just do it for a day, a week or a month and then say it does not work when you don’t get what you want. Like anything worthwhile in life you need to do it forever. If you do…I promise it works.

mojo ali

by: Tom Tognoli, President & CEO, Intero Real Estate Services

 

Leave a Reply

